在六十多年前, 未满二十岁的周子敬和周子汉俩兄弟离开在中国福建的老家, 离乡背井来到新加坡。秉持着要供养在中国家人的意愿, 他们终于在当地的饼干厂找到了工作。

然而好景不长, 不久, 日本便入侵新加坡,迫使兄弟俩逃到马来西亚霹雳州避难。为了生 活,他们制作手工饼来售卖, 直到无法购买到面粉和糖为止。当时市场上对盐的需求大, 因此他们就转行用海水制盐来卖。由于当时肥皂也较为短缺, 于是他们就开始研发和生产肥皂,努力维持战时的生计。






日本撤退后,兄弟俩回到新加坡。因为都已有家室和需要供养在中国的亲人, 于是他们重 操旧业 - 售卖手工制作的饼干。

然而, 人生的重大转机不期而至。周子汉偶然发现他俩曾工作过的老工厂要将一堆在战争中受损的老旧制饼机器当做废品卖掉。他立即把机器买了下来, 并完全凭着坚定的毅力和精通机械的头脑拼凑出一条半自动的饼干生产线, 用脚踏车链条将饼干通过一个传送系统传送到改良后的砖制烘烤炉中。

更高的生产能力带动了销量的提高。1947年,随着位于18 Howard 路的首个工厂的建成, 康元饼干厂(新加坡)有限公司也随之成立。

位于马来西亚和东南亚其他地方的工厂不久也装备了自己设计和制造的生产线。1980年代早期,康元公司在中国的一些沿海城市建立了康元饼干厂。销售订单从四面八方涌来, 康元饼干很快便登上了中东、香港、日本、澳洲、欧洲、加拿大和美国的超级市场的货架。

CONNECT WITH US
© 2010 Khong Guan, All Rights Reserved. Sitemap

BEFORE THE BISCUIT

More than sixty years ago, two brothers Chew Choo Keng and Chew Choo Han left their village in Fujian, China in their late teens to come to Singapore. Full of aspirations and eager to eke out a living to support their family in China, they found work in a local biscuit factory.

However, their happiness was short-lived as the Japanese invaded Singapore soon after, forcing the two brothers to seek refuge in Perak, Malaysia where they made biscuits by hand for sale until flour and sugar could no longer be sourced. There was a market demand for salt, so they turned to making salt from sea water to sell. As soap was also in short supply, experiments to make soap from ashes were done until they also had soap to sell, all in an effort to continue their war-time livelihood.





After the Japanese retreat, the brothers returned to Singapore. Having married, with their growing young families and their family in China to support, they went back to doing what they did before C selling hand-made biscuits.

Their big break came when Chew Choo Han chanced upon some old and war-damaged biscuit making machines being sold as scrap from the old factory where they used to work. He promptly bought them and with sheer determination and a mechanically astute mind, he rigged up a semi-automated biscuit production line using bicycle chains to move the biscuits on a conveyor system through an improvised brick oven.

The enhanced production capability escalated sales and, in 1947, Khong Guan Biscuit Factory (Singapore) Limited was set up with its first factory premises at 18 Howard Road.

Factories in Malaysia and other parts of South East Asia soon followed with production lines being designed and manufactured by their own engineering outfit. In the early 1980s, Khong Guan factories were established in some of the coastal cities in China. Sales enquiries came in from afar, and Khong Guan biscuits soon found their way to supermarket shelves in the Middle East, Hong Kong, Japan, Australia, Europe, Canada and the United States.

CONNECT WITH US
© 2010 Khong Guan, All Rights Reserved. Sitemap